A Book A Week

IMG_20170523_175808_203

I’ve blogged before on my love of books. The stories they sell to us, the escapes they offer, the worth they hold. The art of choosing just one (or I’ll admit, sometimes two or three) from rows upon rows of them in bookshops. The shared act of discussing them, swapping them, lending and borrowing. Collecting them.

Simone de Beauvoir famously said, “When I was a child, when I was an adolescent, books saved me from despair: that convinced me that culture was the highest of values” a quote I can relate to a lot.

This year I challenged myself to read a book a week. I didn’t think I’d make it; these days my reading has acquired the pace of a snail.  But now we’re in June, halfway through, and I’m perfectly on target, currently reading book 26. Some of my favourite feminist reads so far have been ‘Girl Up’ by Laura Bates, Alice Walker’s ‘The Color Purple’,  and Zora Neale Hurston’s ‘Their Eyes Were Watching God’. Over the next few weeks I’m hoping to review a couple of my favourites.

You can view my reading challenge here: https://www.goodreads.com/feministfabulist

Recommendations for the next 26 books are highly welcome!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

